top of page
  • Writer's pictureCraig Govender

Acknowledging Excellence

Interview with Lizaad Williams

 

We recently interviewed new Protea and SS4LS Alumnus Lizaad Williams about his experience of the SS4LS programme, how he became a part of it and what it means to be called up to the national team. Here is what he had to say .




What did you study at UWC and tell us why you moved from Stellenbosch to Bellville?

I Studied BA, at that stage I wanted to move closer to Newlands as I was contracted at the Cape Cobras franchise so wanted to play representative cricket but also wanted to continue studying and that's when I got in contact with Nic Kock and Cheslin Fortuin.


What is your three best memories of SS4LS Program and why?

The brotherhood (players in the program really look out for each other in the program, not only on the field but at campus as well).


Pre-season camps (was always nice learning new things about the program and learn to know other guys more).


Going to extra mile when it came to my studies (Andrew Greenwood, literally made sure I have all the resources to pass my modules as I've missed a lot of classes through training, tours etc. He made sure I have tutors to help me succeed).


You are a 120% cricketer and always come across as this unflappable character. What do you attribute these characteristics to?


I reckon the way I got raised as a kid, as well as the community I come from. You need to show a lot of resilience against a number of external factors. Our communities play a big role in shaping us for the future.


You have now been selected for the Proteas for the first time. What does this mean to you?

It's a massive honour and privilege in a country of over 60 million people you a selected to represent all of them🙂. I hope I can make all of them proud through my performances.


What is your life philosophy?

My "why" drives everything in me and that's my daughter, younger brother and my fiancé. I'm driven to give them a better life and be a role model for my brother, as we lost our mother sixteen months ago.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page