top of page
  • Writer's pictureLloyd Flanagan

The world really is your oyster

by Lloyd Flanagan

Our world is filled with a vast amount of negativity; from poverty, to emotional and physical abuse and a range of life limitations imposed on teenagers and young adults. There’s the never-ending familiar story of people getting stuck in their environment, becoming like the conditions they grow up in and unfortunately their life also ends in that very same situation.


Then, some will say “the world is your oyster”. I am a true believer in this exact phrase. I live it, I breathe it and I am wanting to share my belief in the context of where I come from, what I’ve been through in terms of SS4LS and where I am today.


When you are surrounded by that negativity day in and day out, when you wake up with it, and go to bed with it, it must be difficult to think life can be any different. It can be easy to believe that that is how your life must be and there is nothing different for you. However, the magic lies in one brief moment when you are introduced to something more appealing, something that you would like to achieve, perhaps a different quality of life, perhaps an education with which you can earn a respectful income, to use to support the less fortunate people in your life. A brief moment where someone said something to you, or asked you something, or described something they experienced. When that moment arrives, look out for it, absorb it and take from it a positive outcome. Make that moment count and build on it. What can follow, is a life ripple effect that leads to a better life for you. It is also very easy that you miss this opportunity; you may not be skilled or equipped to even see the moment. So, you need to make the effort to really listen to people, hear every word they say… the moment might lie in there somewhere.


My moment was when Nic Kock was umpiring a Kuils River vs. Bellville 1A cricket match and I ended the first Saturday’s play with five wickets in the bag; I recall bowling Bellville out for less than 100 runs in their first innings, and that team included some high-profile Proteas and Western Province cricketers. Nic and I had a chat, he spoke about this new adventure called the SS4LS Programme and invited me to leave Kuils River CC and join him at UWC CC as one of the first beneficiaries of the Programme. The rest is history, I started at UWC, reached various cricketing honours and also ended up with a Master's Degree in Hydrogeology.


The world is really your oyster; if you grab the opportunity, if you see it, if you truly want it. I took myself out of an attractive 1A cricket situation and moved to a club playing in the 1C league. However, there was something bigger waiting. I played with a group of eager and excited players; I witnessed how people needed to learn how to balance sports with academics; how they developed multiple skills, both for sports and for life. I left long before SS4LS became a world class organisation. But rightfully so, I was part of the originating imagination of a man who wanted greatness for less privileged young adults. I am forever grateful. I took an opportunity, I saw it through, and today I have seen a great deal of the world through travels, I work abroad and regularly return back to Cape Town to share my life with my wife and two beautiful daughters and I am continuing to grow and better myself each and every day… now that’s living the concept of my world is really my oyster. I am not the person I was on that day when I played my first cricket match for UWC CC; I am so, so much better – greatly due to being part of the Programme.


SS4LS Alumni has arrived. It exists because the Alumni all want to equip others with the tools to grab the opportunities which may pass them by otherwise. Everybody in this entire world has choices – that the world is theirs – and they can do what they want with their lives. It doesn’t always feel that way; the burden of your environment may make you think otherwise, but trust me, it is real.


Hope you enjoyed this read and have a great week peeps.





284 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page